So God Made A Farmer Follow-up

Posted: February 8, 2013 in God, Life

field

So I just got back from speaking at a men’s event in rural Kansas.  There’s an amazing group that has formed out there called “Sons of Thunder” which is bringing together men for the cause of Christ once a month.  It was an great time and I saw God move in a number of very powerful and clear ways.

But on a somewhat less “spiritual” level, I found myself thinking frequently about the “So God Made a Farmer” Superbowl ad.  With that ad fresh in my mind I watched the people in Ulysses, Kansas with a keener eye and I have to say:  there is something remarkably refreshing and…re-grounding I guess is the right word…about people in farming communities.  I don’t know that I would ever enjoy living in rural America myself, but I very much enjoy the people in rural America.

Here are 7 reasons why:

1.  They know each other.

2.  They care about each other.

3.  They have a shared history that provides a context for their relationships and lives.

4.  They care a lot about the important things like God, family, the community, etc. And they care enough to not just talk about these things and instead get up and do things about them.

5.  They don’t have much patience for unimportant things.

6.  They don’t beat around the bush and play games with each other – they say what they mean when it needs to be said.

7.  They take pleasure in simple, but profound things like family, worship, children and each other (see #2).

I know this is a bit of an oversimplification and there are probably rural folk who don’t exhibit any of these characteristics, but as a general rule, you’ll see these characteristics in more people in rural America than not.

And I love that.

Leave a Reply

